Rural Health Awards  

Each year the Rural Health Association of Tennessee recognizes individuals and groups of individuals from across the state of Tennessee who have dedicated themselves to the service of others within the field of rural healthcare. 

2021 Nominations are being accepted through September 2021.

View description of award categories 
Download nomination form

Past Award Recipients

Award of Merit

2017 Byron Harbolt, M.D 2016 Cheryl Wooten
2015 Karen & Steve Wickham 2014 Bonnie Crews
2013 Reverend Sheldon Livesay and
the 'Of One Accord Ministry'
2012 East TN State University's Rural Inter
professional Rural Community Assessment
and Project Courses
2011 Sara Smith, TN Department of Education  

Al Grant Award

2018 Dr. Sajeesh Kumar 2016 Dennis Wolford
2015 Pete DeBusk  


Bill Moats Meritorious Service Award 

2019 Bill Dobbins 2018 Mary Vance
2017 Bill Moats  

Collaboration Award

2018 TN State Office of Rural Health Team 2017 Kathy Ann Watson, BSN, RN
2016 TN's CSH Initiative, TN Department of Education 2015 South Cumberland Health Network
2014 Obion County Hometown Walk of Hope/Obion
County Cancer Agency in Union City

Eloise Q. Hatmaker Distinguished Service Award

2019 Carolyn Sliger 2018 Angie Allen
2015 Mary Vance 2013 Cindy Siler


Exemplary Project Award

2019  The Kenley Project, LMU-DCOM 2018 Maury Regional Medical Center &
Lewis Health Center
2017 Dolly Parton/Dollywood Feed my People Fund 2014 Tennessee Emergency Medical
Services for Children
2013 Mary Jane Dewey, Thoris Campbell,
Ciara Gordon for "Ask Me", "Teal for Two" and "Manicure for the Cure"
2012 Southwest Area Agency on Aging
and Disability: Connected Transitions &
Trousdale County Health Council- Teen Time:
Tools & Ties/Petals & Pearls & Jefferson County Health Council's SEED Project
2011 Tasty Tuesday   


Jerry McEwen Hero Award

2017 Heather & Sonny Melton  2012 Cindy Johnson
2011 Jesse King  

Practitioner of the Year Award

2018 Dr. Jose Velasco 2017 Robert H. Lee, M.D.
2016 Dr. Charles Alderson 2015 Dr. Jim Shine
2014 Sullivan Smith MD  2013 Hanna Ilia, MD
2012 Dr. P. William Dysinger  

Rural Health Professional of the Year

2019 Joe Florence, MD 2017 Mark Dalle-Ave, MD
2015 Tonya Garner 2012 Gerald Bowker
2011 Shelia Garvin Bates  


Rural Legislator of the Year Award   

2019 State Senator Becky Massey 2018 State Senator Bo Watson
2017 State Senator Ken Yager 2016 State Representative Matthew Hill
2015 State Representative Steve McDaniel 2014 State Senator Doub Overby
2013 State Representative Kelly Keisling 2012 State Representative Mike Harrison


President’s Award

2019 Julie Clyce, Cathy Dyer, & Angie Dotson 2017 Bill Jolley, Angie Britt & Elaine Jackson
2016 Bill Jolley & Walter Fletcher 2015 Angie Dotson,  Elaine Jackson & Aaron Haynes
2014 Joellen Edwards, Bill Jolley,
Angie Dotson, Kathyrn Atwood & Jill Beason
2013 Bill Moats, J. Mark Wilson & Cindy Siler
2012 Deborah Murph & Myrtle Russell